Join our mailing list!



PayPal Logo


Small Shipping Icons
Home > C.E. Hours > MFTs


Marriage & Family Therapists (MFTs) and MFT Interns (IMFs)

Each course meets the qualifications for continuing education credit for LCSWs, LEPs, LPCCs, and MFTs as required by the California Board of Behavioral Sciences.

• Psycho-Legal Associates, Inc. is an NBCC-Approved Continuing Education Provider (ACEP) and may offer NBCC-approved clock hours for events that meet NBCC requirements. The ACEP solely is responsible for all aspects of the program. (NBCC Provider #: 5815).

MFT Interns with approval from their supervisors may earn hours of experience for attending our live courses.

C.E. Details

In California, MFTs must complete 36 hours of continuing education within the preceding two years of their license renewal date, and are required to complete six hours of law and ethics training with every renewal. The six-hour clinical supervision training requirement is only necessary if you supervise.

As an MFT you do not have to complete any of your 36 hours in person. But, there are a couple of caveats.

You may obtain all of your hours through what the BBS calls "interactive, electronic means" which includes online, teleconferencing and videotape viewing.

You can obtain up to 18 hours via "self-study courses" from board-approved providers which the BBS defines as coursework (i.e., books, booklets, audio programs) you do at your residence, office, or other private location.

The BBS' Continuing Education and License Renewal Information Brochure is a helpful publication for keeping licensees informed of new continuing education requirements.

California BBS Statutes And Regulations (2013 Edition)

Here's a link to the 2013 version of the California Board of Behavioral Science's (BBS) Statutes and Regulations Relating to the Practice of Professional Clinical Counseling, Marriage and Family Therapy, Educational Psychology, and Clinical Social Work. This booklet contains various California Business and Professions Code statutes and California Code of Regulations sections and reflects changes made through January 1, 2013.